For the tenth consecutive year, the ABA Journal has released a list of the top 100 law blogs. After taking a look, here are some of my favorites:

Excess of Democracy

Derek T. Muller, professor at the Pepperdine University School of Law, analyzes democracy through the lens of election law, legal education, the U.S. Supreme Court, and litigation, among other categories. Unlike most law blogs I’ve read, his tone is relatively informal and mostly avoids legal jargon. Consequently, it makes for an easy read (for a legal blog).

IP News for Business

Beverly A. Berneman, partner at Golan Christie Taglia, blogs about intellectual property and its intersection with business. Naturally, IP interests me, so I gravitated towards her writing. However, what most caught my eye was her “Why You Should Know This” section after each post. Berneman’s blog is what I aim to accomplish with my blog.

The Legal Genealogist

Judy G. Russell, genealogist and JD recipient, does the impossible. Russell somehow found a way to connect the specialized worlds of science (DNA) to law (copyrights). If that doesn’t convince you to read this academic’s blog, perhaps one of her post titles will: “Cemetery photos: permission required?” Woah. Get reading, folks.

Trademark & Copyright Law

This blog, published by Foley-Hoag, has been one of my favorite sources for IP news. I feature Trademark & Copyright Law, comprised of a conglomerate of authors, on my blog as a suggested “IP Inspiration” source.

 

You never know when your corporate environment, decisions, or chosen field of interest will intersect with law. Be proactive and start reading up on what some of the most distinguished legal minds have to say about your field.

